Post Derg Period

  In July 1991, the Ethiopian Peoples’ Revolutionary Democratic Front (EPRDF) and others established the Transitional Government of Ethiopia which was composed of 87 members Council of Representatives and guided by a national charter that functioned as a transitional constitution. Eritrea separated from Ethiopia following the fall of the Derg in 1991, after a long independents war.   In 1994, a new constitution was written that formed a bicameral legislature and a judicial system. The first free and democratic election took place in May 1995 in which Meles Zenawi was elected as the Prime Minister and Negasso Gidada was elected as President of Ethiopia. Also at this time, the members of the Parliament were elected. Ethiopia’s second and third multiparty election was held in May 2000 and 2005 respectively. Prime Minister Meles was once again elected as Prime Minister in October 2000 and 2005. In October 2001, Lieutenant Girma Wolde Giorgis was elected as president of Ethiopia. Right after the demise of the military regime, the country is now on the path of peace, democracy and development.

Copyrights ©2016: Overland Ethiopia Tours. Website design by: